What happens in Moodle when student has withdrawn from a class?
The Enrollment integration automatically removes the student from the course (either when the student logs into Moodle or when the nightly sync runs, whichever comes first). The student's history in the course is still stored in the Moodle database, so if needed it can be retrieved.
They remain in the User's list but not in the Participant's list. Read more here